“Fran’s Flowers”


  • I wanted to make a hanging for my sister Fran.  So when I asked her what her what her colors in her living room were, she of course was curious why I was asking.  The cat just jumped right up out of the bag and I told her what I had in mind.  It is difficult to convey colors with words so she sent me a picture of some throw pillows she had made that were made with the same print as the window treatment in her living room.  The print was a wonderful floral print with a plethora of beautiful flowers.  I stared at the print, and stared at it, and stared some more.  I had never made flowers before, so I had some difficulty visualizing how I could make adequate versions of these lovelies
In the detail picture at the right the flower in the upper right is the first flower I made, and I hate

Detail 1 Fran's Flowers

to think how long it took me to complete!  I can make one in probably a third of the time now that the first one took me to complete.

Practice makes perfect, eh?  Well, at least it gets easier, my flowers are still one of the more time-consuming thing I do.  And I keep trying to come up with new ways to make them so they new and different but still flowers.
I am working on a rather ambitious floral piece right now for a show coming up for the 1st Friday Show “Catapult” which is being held at Alley Cat Artists Gallery in Ellensburg, Wa.  This show is being done by the students of a professional development class I took there.  We decided on “Catapult” as the title of our show to symbolize our efforts to thrust ourselves into the public eye.
The new piece is very complex.  That is about all I can say about what it will look like other than it will have several new versions of flowers and leaves.  I am trying a new technique, making the many elements then tying them all together into a whole piece.  I have no idea how well it will work, but it works in my vision, hehe.  We shall see!
Explore posts in the same categories: art, Fiber Sculpture, Wall Hangings

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on ““Fran’s Flowers””

  1. Fran Says:

    I am so glad you decided to talk about my hanging. I am so proud of it. Thank you Thank you Thank you!!


Leave a Reply

