Celebration! Dance to the Music!


My thanks to all that have chosen to read my blog and check out my art!  I believe this is my 20th post and I just broke 300 hits!  Now that doesn’t sound like a major success when the numbers on other more contemporary entertainment, science or community driven sites get hits in the thousands!  307 hits are KUDOS to me!

My chosen field of artistic pursuit is definitely outside the classical box and I wouldn’t have it any other way

Here is a piece I knotted over a year ago.  It is one of those rare pieces without any large focal beads.  Mostly I used small glass beads with three slightly larger striped glass beads on the beige strand of knots on the left and between dark red and dark brown ones.   The colors in the striped beads pick up the colors of the knotting very well.  I think I will call this one:  “Loop d’ Loop”.

I think I would like to make a series of pieces with swirls of loops draping in a plethora of different knotting styles, and patterns of bead accents.  This one was made after my daughter suggested something similar.  Only what she had imagined was more of a horizontal piece swirls of knotted strands to either side.  She drew me a sketch which I would like to make a closer approximation of.  Maybe the next one I start, maybe….

Here is the detail shot I have for this piece which I feel is important to have with each of the larger pictures of the whole pieces.  If all I worked with was the traditional “macrame materials” then the detail shots would be hardly needed because the knotting would be large enough to see in a regular shot.  However, I have avoided working with the usual stuff because it is too expensive, and common.  I have been using remnants from second-hand stores more than anything.  Yarns of many varying weights and textures.  Long ago I realized I loved working with the variety of remnant yarns.  That way I was using up the leftovers from other people’s projects, and it is an eco-nomic thing to do.  Ha!

I truly am having a great time talking about my work, and it is gratifying that I have had as many visitors to my blog as I have.  Should one find they could use an unusual twisty-loopy-one-of-a-kind-whimsy in their environment, I long to do something custom for a person who could appreciate it.  I can be contacted directly at the address below.  I could work from a photograph of the interior that is calling out for a complimentary piece of art or from a sketch of an idea.  But let me explain very succinctly, “I do not do Owls!”  Hehe, that has been my artist statement of sorts for years, with my tongue in cheek, and serious as a heart attack simultaneously!  cilipower@yahoo.com

$…negotiable.

Explore posts in the same categories: art, fiber art, Wall Hangings

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

