“Mountain Meadow”


Ahh!  Sit back, close your eyes, imagine you have just left the woods behind.  Ahead of you is the gentle rising slope of a lush meadow.  Insects buzz subliminally at the far reach of your hearing, the sun warm, but you are not hot because there is a soft breeze.  As you leave the last vestige of shade from the woods, walking up the side of the mountain, your sense of smell is assaulted on all sides by fragrances of wild flowers in full bloom.  Suddenly by your ear is a soft “zzzpht” then only the usual background sounds of insects.  Then again, the same sou  nd but a bit farther away!  You look around wildly trying to center on what you heard, but it escapes you.  Ok, calm down, you are not going nuts you tell yourself.

You walk a bit farther and suddenly there it is again off to your left a bit!  You zoom your focus in on where you heard the sound, and there above a lovely purple blossom is a fiery little hovering hummingbird!  You freeze!  Don’t move a muscle….!  You watch for a breathless full minute or so while the magical creature blesses you with its’ beauty, then as suddenly as it appeared, it is gone.  Only the occasional “zzzzpht” in your ears to let you know it is still around.

Once when I was in Alaska, in a place called Soapstone Cove, I was on the shore with my dog She-la, and had walked up into the trees that lined the soapstone cliffs.  It was like being in a cathedral there because all the trees branches grew away from the cliff face.  I sat on a rock looking around me,  absorbing the loveliness of the place when, “zzzpht” and “zzzzpht” back and forth all around me, but so quietly I almost thought I was hearing things!  Then suddenly hovering inches from my eyes was one of the loveliest apparitions ever.  Yes, you guessed it, you are sooo smart, yes, a humming-bird!  Giggle!  One of the more spiritual moments in my life, one I remember as clearly today as if it was moments ago!  And it was over 40 years ago!  Yuppers!

That is the kind of feeling I get when I look at this piece I call “Mountain Meadow”.  Soft and spiritual, and appreciative of the blessing that my hands afford me when I make something like this.  I certainly feel all warm and fuzzy just talking about how this piece makes me feel.

I would love to share my gift with others, of course I would also love to supplement my income with my gift as well.  As an artist I have given my work to people across the years that gave me a blessing of kindness, or were kind to my children.  Once I had worked up a storm to build up a stock of items to sell somehow, (something I had never ventured before that date).  This was in Knoxville around 1980 and my husband had a job at the State Fair running the ferris wheel for a couple of weeks.  Well it was the first job he’d had for a while, and we had no money.  So I got the bright idea to stand in front of the gate to sell my work to take my three-year old son in to the fair.  Let me tell you that was one of the hardest things I ever did for money!  No one wanted to buy anything!  They were all going into the fair and wanted to spend their money in there!  I managed to sell enough by lowering my prices down to almost giving things away, plant hangers for $5, wall hangings as big as any I make today for as little as $10, oh the hours of work I sold dirt cheap!  But I got enough together to get myself and my son in the fair, we ate, and Victor got to ride some kiddie rides.  My purpose was accomplished, no regrets, but I never tried anything like that again.  Mostly my work has gone to gifts of appreciation!

My blog is a way to share my blessing with many, and today I managed to share a bit more of me than just my work.  Would that you could fall in love with an image of something that I have made with love flying from my fingers.  May I share a concept I love, and a poem I wrote for my Artist Statement.

I Knot Therefore I Am

When I was knee-high to a grasshopper

I heard somewhere along my knee-high path

Imitation is the most sincere form of flattery

My innate need for creative outflow

Is merely an attempt to flatter

The grasshopper’s Maker

by Cecilia Power

May God Bless

You may contact me directly if you wish at cilipower@yahoo.com and perhaps…..

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: art, Fiber Sculpture, Wall Hangings

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on ““Mountain Meadow””

  1. Jolie R. Says:

    Cecilia,
    I am so impressed at your blog!! You have a great talent for macrame, I already knew. But you also have a hidden talent for writing. I have enjoyed reading your posts thus far. How would you like to take a weekend trip to the coast with me some time so we can look for driftwood, shells, etc. for your artwork? Rachel and Iris could come with us too. It would be lots of fun!

  2. hey.rae.rae Says:

    ooohh. again i am drawn to your neutrally colored sculptures. looks great!


Leave a Reply

