“Sunset O’er Me Garden”


I have played around with the title to this one many times, variations x umpteen.  “Sunset O’er My Garden” wins.

This is the next piece I knotted after “Fran’s Flowers” and I wanted to do something a bit brighter.  Yup, got that one down, yes I did.  While I love the subtle color scheme in my sister’s “Fran’s Flowers”, I also have a side to me that loves glorious, riotous, saturated and blazing color!  Well, this one doesn’t really blaze, but it is a bit riotous.

When you click on this picture to enlarge it you will see four flowers, each distinctly different from the other.  At the time I was getting my experimenting on!  Actually every piece is experimental, and I hope I always feel that they are, because I want to keep that feeling of wonder every time I find a new way to express my love of flowers.

I will admit to borrowing on the efforts of other’s a bit when I figure out new arrangements of my knots to emulate nature’s artistry.  I peruse the artistry of “painters of flowers” to gain inspiration, and structural understanding.  I actually could not do it with out the lovely paintings I have found online.  I could look at photographs all day long and not get the same inspiration.  As we know, photographs are abounding in detail, astounding and breathtaking, but too literal.  Another artist’s interpretation of the visual makes it seem more doable somehow.i

The flowers in this piece are all in embroidery floss.  The rest is seven different types of yarn.  The next piece I did after this one was a smaller piece done entirely in embroidery floss, and had around a dozen flowers on it.  I unfortunately do not have a picture of it, as I gifted it to the best friend of my granddaughter and she lives in another city.  Maybe I can get her mom to make a picture of it for me.  It was another experimental piece that I put on a complex smaller branch from our walnut tree, and it has not stood the test of time well.  The walnut branch became very dry, and it has broken a couple of times.  I have had similar problems with other pieces, but have been able to manipulate the work to accommodate the changes.  Uh, I faked it, till I made it, uh.

Last night I visited a website called EBSQ.  It is a place where artists self represent, showing their artwork to the world.  Patrons who wish to find something special for their walls or a gift for someone may peruse the site for free and link up with artists without owing any fees to the site.  Artists however pay for the opportunity, but the fees for membership are very reasonable.  Fees range from around $9 for one month, $89 for a year,  to $699 (I think that is the figure I saw) for lifetime membership.   For having a place to post one’s art among peers it seems very reasonable to me.  Each artist has an area where they post links to their websites, email, blogs, etc.  I spent hours looking at only one category of work, the one type of painting that I believe my work most closely parallels.  Sometimes my work is pure abstract, but when I do my florals or pictorials (as I like to call my “Solar Powered, Wind Assisted, Manually Operated Clothes Dryer”).  I also have a few other things that are representational, and recognizable as animal, or some such.  I am talking about this website for artists so others can learn about it and either make use of it for purchase, for sale or for simple enjoyment!  And there was some very fine work there.  I was particularly impressed by a lady Marcia Baldwin, her work is very fine, she paints many things and her Equine series strike a loving chord in my heart.  I have always had a deep abiding love of horses though had far to little actual experience knowing them.  She captures their wild nobility and intelligence in a way that is rare beauty.  Thank you Marcia.  I have not yet left a comment to let her know my appreciation, but that is on my short list!  Thanks for letting me ramble on, Ta! Ta! Ha! Ha!

Here is a link to the art site:

EBSQ Self Representing Artists
http://www.ebsqart.com
Support Living Artists!

Explore posts in the same categories: art, fiber art, Fiber Sculpture, Wall Hangings

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on ““Sunset O’er Me Garden””

  1. kenneturner Says:

    . . . the title is perfect!

  2. cilipower Says:

    Thank you Keene!

  3. N. Barnes Says:

    Oh gorgous! I imagine the floss gives a soft sheen to the flower when the sunlight kisses your art. Look for me when you are on EBSQ – on second thought, I need to update my portfolio there so check out the monthly exhibits instead… you may want to enter!

    • cilipower Says:

      Thank you Nancy! Yes it probably does, haven’t had it in the sun yet, need to try that, lol. I am such a night owl I tend to have my room a bit dark, it is cooler that way also. As far as EBSQ is concerened, I am hooked on looking at all the art there, I saw a piece of yours in the “representational abstract” section which is my favorite. Don’t remember which one. But it will be a while before I can afford to post work there. I can’t afford the fees as yet.


Leave a Reply

