Been Busy Knotting


 

I must explain that I am too excited to wait for really good pictures of my newest addition to me garden!  I just finished my second Reclamation  Art piece!  The first was an extra virgin olive oil bottle, I love the green glass and the shape of the bottle.  I knotted a free form filigree shape around the bottle with beads made out of stripped copper wire.  In this bottle I had a knotted arrangement of four flowers and loads of foliage.  It was in a Reclamation Art Show at Alley Cat Artists in Ellensburg, WA, and brought me some very nice compliments from people who came to the show.  Unfortunately I have no pictures of that piece yet.

Now I have for your dubious viewing pleasure are some sneek peek pictures of my new bouquet taken by my web cam.  The quality is blurry but good enough to get the idea.  Better pictures will come as soon as I can get them made.  It does show the basics enough, that hopefully one can apply a little imagination to get some of the details ok.

The front view of the flowers in the neck of the liquid smoke bottle.  I am guessing that there have been worse pictures posted of people’s creative projects, but I don’t think any could be much worse.  Oh, well! I for one am going to stop making excuses for the picture quality, because I love these flowers!  Following will be a side view of  the flowers, and a front and rear view of the macrame covered bottle. 

I discovered that with the flowers stuck in the neck of the bottle it was a bit top-heavy, so I loaded up a bunch of some nice ceramic beads to give it some counter balance.  It worked like a charm.  I will find something to replace it, like some small pebbles because I want the beads, lol.  Here is the last view of the work on the bottle.  Though the quality of these are far from studio art quality, they at least afford me the opportunity to show off my newbie!

I could have looked around to find a better thing to prop between myself and the art to make a better looking background, but I have been up all night knotting, and wanted to get this blog to press!  Haha!  So you get the frumpy look to go with my lovely flowers, maybe the

look will give my lovelies a little more impact because of the frumpiness!  Yea!  I promise I will get far better images of my work, minus the grey frumpy ghost, ASAP!  A friend and fellow art poster said to me I should not be so appologetic about using my web cam.  Ok, wysiwyg.

Thanks for joining in my fun, and I hope you understand the eagerness on my part to share despite the less than professional (understatement) imagery.  Hmmmm….what shall I call it?  “Sunkist” maybe, or how about “Trio”.  Ahh. “Sunkist Trio”, yes that is it!  Thank you for your help, you just sat there and let me bounce this off you, and you helped with the naming of this piece!  “Sunkist Trio.”  Perfection!

If you live in or near Ellensburg and would like to see my work up close, please contact me here, and we could set up a meeting over coffee, though my transportation is limited to Hopesource or Central Transit, a meeting would need to be close to me or arranged for a Tuesday if in Yakima.  Thank You    cilipower@yahoo.com

Explore posts in the same categories: art, fiber art, Fiber Sculpture

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Been Busy Knotting”

  1. N. Barnes Says:

    Quit apologizing – just call it a “sneak peek with a web cam” with a note of better photos to come as what comes through loud and clear is your enthusiasm, the desire to share the joy in what you love to do, and they show enough to amaze the viewer of your knotwork. I could study them for hours just to soak in all the details. That is where your work stands out, the attention you put into every detail, the choices you make in the colors and accents and variations of knots, what makes your work uniquely yours and oh so special!

    Is there a “quick start” or how-to guide with your daughter’s camera? Or if you just know the brand and model, you might be able to look it up on line and read how to use it. Or just borrow it and play?

  2. Fran Wilson Says:

    I especially like the white one, but they are all pretty. The bottle is well disguised. Good work, Cis!

  3. cilipower Says:

    Thank you Sis, I am happy you like my little Trio! I am not sure which is my favorite. The little blue and white one is there to balance out the two larger ones for the arrangement. The color of the small flower lends poise to the blue beads on the tips of the white petals, for the pallet of the whole. All in all it was a delightful project that makes me smile when I look at it!


Leave a Reply

