The Power of Art to Empower


Truly when I create something beautiful I am full of wonder!  I look at page after page of thumbnails of art created by marvelous artists at a website called EBSQ and I get lost in the power of the beauty!  For me art is spiritual, just looking at art gives me a spiritual fix, a buzz, a case of the goosebumps (those usually are reserved for musical performance art)(well performed)!  The performance of the Hungarian Rhapsody at a folk life festival I attended with my kids(adult kids) brought me to tears with it the beauty and passion of the execution.  Years ago I had the honor and the experience of a lifetime to see the performance of Joni Mitchell performing with the L.A. Philharmonic Orchestra.  Honestly, the gossebumps and shivers up and down my spine never stopped until the last note!  I saw Loggins and Messina perform their “Sittin’ In”  album in a college auditorium at Dallas…from first strum of a guitar to the last ringing note of song…goosebumps and shiver-me-timbers!   Ahh!  The memories!!!

Art and the culture born of and around the art is so much of what is human vs animal.  Some animals use tools, so the use of tools is not what separates us.  Language is not the separator we used to think it was.  Not since we studied in-depth the chimpanzees, dolphins and whales.  The closest the animal kingdom comes to art display and language is alive and well in cuttlefish.  But since we don’t speak cuttlefish, we don’t know if green and violet pulsation in triple time is “Hey beautiful, wanna play?” or “Hey dumbass, get outta da way!”  One thing we do know is we alone of the animals of earth have art.  We, I mean humans of course, we know and enjoy, and covet art.  It is what drives curators to curate, collectors to collect, thieves to thieve(well maybe it is the money you get from thieving), but the  money would not be there without the passion alive in those that covet.

Oh, how I want to have the feeling of someone “coveting” my art and paying me the money I ask to be separated from the art I created and love so much that if I never sell it I have its’ very being to enjoy.  I am very sentimental about each piece of work I have hanging around my room, my kitchen, living room.  I love them all, but would part with any of them for “moolah, chashola, greenbacks, enumeration, monetary appreciation!  It is an economic thing, I am a “starving artist” who hungers for a bit of freedom that money makes easier, for some ease that money makes possible, and the lack of causes only stress.  I do not starve for creativity!  That is my gift to me.  I give myself that in droves, and all the energy I spend in creating, well I would love to spend that energy in the execution of a regular job, but I am disabled, retired for health reasons. My knotting is done while seated, and in my home (my bedroom) so no energy needed to get to and from. “I Knot Therefore I Am” is the title of a poem that resides in my Artist Statement an speaks simply and eloquently about why I create art.

It is for the joy, the bliss, and the self empowerment.  My friends online that have a course called “Art Empowers Me” and  a taste of it can be had at http://artempowersme.com .  Melissa Dinwiddie and Cory Huff are about to kick off this class that is all about artists becoming viable, professional, self sustaining and abundant artists.   I offer the link because I have observed what they have and think it worthwhile.  If you are an artist and find yourself blundering through the online morass, trying to make sense of it all and have it work for you, then “Art Empowers Me” may well be for you.

If you just want to look at wonderful, inspiring and awesome creativity try http://ebsqart.com  for the fun of it, or for the spiritual buzz of it.   All the art you see here, with exception of “Sunkist Trio” which of course is mine (the blurry flowers with the frumpy gray sweatshirt background), were found within the pages of EBSQ, and are all from artists I spent hours thumbing through their portfolios!  I of course I invite you to try both of the links herein and make your own assessment.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “The Power of Art to Empower”

  1. N. Barnes Says:

    Seeing “Art for Breakfast” here on your post makes me smile. Thanks for including my art! EBSQ is one of my favorite websites, too.

    I hope the empowerment course is very helpful for you! Sounds like it might shave endless hours off your learning curve. Selling art is kind of like sending your children off to another world knowing that you may never see them nor hear from the buyer ever again, yet gives a joy knowing that someone else values and enjoys your creations. It’s hard to let go of some pieces – I have a painting on my wall from 1991 that I couldn’t part with, even when a collector ignored my NFS and offered hundreds when it was in a show years ago.


Leave a Reply

