Ever Onward!


Here I am exploring the many avenues to the wonderful wide world of cyberspace!   I am making my presence known, with th.com!at comes my art, these days it is my focus, both the creating of, and the sharing of.  My life before art becoming a focus, was varied and interesting, full of hard work and restlessness.  Now, my work is key, it is part of breathing, and truly I hope my family and friends may catch the bug and pass it on!  I can no longer work in the mainstream world, so I am working towards my art being a tool to supplement my SS.  With a little luck, hours of plying the net to learn, to get in the know…..maybe I will be famous some day!  Yeah, right! ROFLMAO!  I would be happy for a modicum of success, and an easement.  Pass it on!

OMG I knew the world of art in cyberspace was large, (large is such an understatement), it is mind boggle humongous!  I have been exploring, (my browser is IE after all, so explore I must!  I joined an art marketing group in linked in and WOW!  It is all I can do to clear my email page, it was manageable before that, with relative ease.  Oh well, then there is EBSQ.com!  I get in there and start looking at the galleries of the multi-fabulous artists within and I go bonkers looking at page after page of finesse, abstraction, and phantasmagorical wonderfulness!  Did I mention I like art, hehe?

This one is one my daughter Rachel named for me.  She said it was the Mariner’s colors so she decided to call it:  “Go Mariners!”.  It is made with some rather large gage knitted cotton cord which is the dark teal and the white which makes up a large part of the work.  There is also a lighter teal yarn, and details in embroidery floss using most of the colors of the main body.  The large white beads are painted wood, and there are some smaller glass beads throughout.  It measures approximately 25″ X 16″.  I Started this one with the larger materials with the intentions of making a piece that took less time than the average.  Well, just about the time that I started this one, I found a treasure at the local Goodwill store.  It was a bag of embroidery floss, now this was no ordinary bag of remnants, mind you!  The bag consisted of a string of one inch white plastic rings, approximately 50-60 rings, each one with a skein of embroidery floss of a different color in varying gradients of shades of each color.  I wish I had counted them and counted the shades in each color, just for the record.  It was wonderful!  However each skein had been cut on one end so that I had many, many strands of floss about 14 to 16 inches in length.  Well, let me tell you, it challenged the traditional knotting strategy I had worked with for so long!  I was used to starting out with enough length to each piece to last throughout the whole piece of art!  Good old American ingenuity kicked in and I soon developed several techniques of adding in strands and blending in of short ends.  In no time I learned how to make those pre-cut lengths of floss work for me.  I learned it so well that soon I couldn’t hardly do a piece without adding in my little areas of intricate details.  That blew my idea of having large materials work for me to make a piece quickly.  No, not for me the easy way.  Now I have used up a large amount of that bag of many-colored floss.  And this town doesn’t have a store that sells it!  My sweet neighbor told me the other day that her mother had quite a supply of it somewhere in her house that she doesn’t use any more.  When she locates it I get a new infusion of colors to work with!  Yea!  She already gave me one small partial skein of BLACK floss!  I had not been able to get any black for a while, the only place near me (Wal-Mart in Yakima) does not have any black.  Cool, I had been wanting some for nice contrast details in something.  Yea!

Here is a detail picture of “Go Mariners!”  I just love the play of small intricacies against the large knottings of the larger cords.   I wish these pictures did the work better justice.  No comparison to actually seeing with thine own eyes.  My eyes never seem to get enough of fine details in the artwork of artists I follow on the net, and here in lovely little artsy Ellensburg.  Art is eye candy!

I am working on a piece now that is all darker more muted colors, the main yarn I am using is a variegated yarn in dark greens blues and reddish browns, with varying shades in-between.  It is going to be a dramatic piece I think because I am working in a dark red rug yarn and a forest green rug yarn, plus a medium tint of the green also.  It already has quite a few nice beads in it.  It is on a stick that is about 20″ wide so it promises to have some good size to the work.  I also have a few other smaller pieces in the works in brighter cheery colors.  I like to have more than one piece going at a time that way my various moods are suited.  Ever Onward!

Explore posts in the same categories: art

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Ever Onward!”

  1. N. Barnes Says:

    I love zooming in on your detail photo to see your delicate work. Sounds like you have several interesting projects keeping your fingers busy! I run into that same problem of not being able to find favorite art supplies local. It’s good your friend’s mother is willing to donate things she is not going to use.


Leave a Reply

