“POSH”


If you clicked on the link to be notified of new blogs by email, I am sorry I have still not got that figured out.  I found out I need to use an email newsletter service like Mail Chimp or Madmimi.  They are a bit complicated and my attention span for dry how to stuff isn’t the greatest.  I will set that up at some point, but I will need you to email me at cilipower@yahoo.com to let me know you want to be on the list.  It seems I managed to lose the one that did exist on my blogs’ dashboard.  Until I get it together I am going to take down the button for email subscriptions.  Now on to me blog!  Finally, been working on this one for a few days, hehe.

Here is “Posh” on of my oldest available pieces.  I guess it might have made more sense to begin my blog with my oldest works and move forward in a chronological progression.  I was never the most logical as I have proven by traveling back and forth on the timeline of my work.   This one was done at a time when my stockpile of yarns was limited, and I did several other pieces in a similar color scheme at that time.  Some were small, bracelets, mini wall hangings, and key chain fobs, all sitting at Alley Cat Artists hoping to have someone love them and buy them.

I have found it easier to talk about the work when it is fresher in my mind, so it stands to reason I don’t have a lot in my brain pan about this one.  It is black, red and a dark purple, and has a plethora of beads in it as you can tell by clicking on the picture to enlarge it.  Sometimes I get carried away putting beads in my work.  It would be nice if I could feel that my knotting would be interesting to stand alone, but rarely do I do a piece “naked” or sans beads”.  The beading can add so much

as well as color to a piece of knotted work.  I enjoy the effort to find new and interesting ways to add them in, new patterns, or  new configurations of bead on bead.  I am finding that there are infinite variations to discover, what heaven!  That means that I should never run out of new ways to accent my knotting.

On a different note, our gallery, Alley Cat Artists in Ellensburg, is holding  silent auction this month.  It is to raise funds to help support some of the programs it offers to the disabled artists in Ellensburg.  A week or so ago we got a “Call to Artists” asking us to donate up to two art pieces for the auction.  One of the pieces I donated is called “Blue and Green Simple” because it is far less complicated than many hangings that I knot.  And I gave her one that I haven’t had a chance to get photographed.  It was mostly a beige  wall hanging with varying shades of blue and green details done in embroidery floss and glass beads.  This piece was one that the knotting patterns were emphasised by the simplicity of the color patterns.  I will get a picture of it, Shannon, the curator of Alley Cat Artists is the one that took most of the digital images.  While she is at it maybe I can convince her to take some of the small works so I can show them to the world!

For those that have been clicking into my blog to see if I had been around, I offer my apology for tardiness.  There is so much information available that I got lost for a bit.  I plan on revamping my blog soon when I figure out just what I want to do.  I want to set up a gallery page, and a poetry page that will all be accessible by links.  I know others have similar set ups, I just need to do some more boning up to get there.  Another thing I want to do is show links for all the wonderful artists I have discovered.  That will come together easier than the other stuff I want to do, will just take a little planning.  So, bear with me folks!  There can only be better things on the horizon!  Ever Onward!

Girl Effect website  Check this out!  It is about third world girls making changes.  Very profound.

Explore posts in the same categories: art

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on ““POSH””

  1. Nancy Barnes Says:

    When I checked email tonight, your email notification was there… links worked fine and everything. (I’ll forward a copy to your email address so you can see how it looks, etc.) With WordPress, they take care of it so we don’t have to figure out how to use that email stuff, unless you want to send out something other than notifications of your blog posts.

    Posh is beautiful with rich warm colors, perfect for fall and winter, and your bead accents is just one of the special details that makes your fiber art unique. I hope the silent auction at the Alley Cat Gallery goes well… who knows, perhaps someone who was outbid on your pieces will be inclined to see what you have for sale.

    • cilipower Says:

      Thank you Nancy, that is good to know about the email notifications. I thought I needed the email service because of a guy I follow who offers quite a lot of good interesting information about selling online. Funny that he wouldn’t know that, he uses wordpress also. Oh, well, I will point it out to him. And thank you for your nice words about Posh. I love the piece myself. Yes, I am hoping for the best with the silent auction. I have had more expesive pieces in silent auctions there before that got no bids. However, the ones there now have low minimum bids set for them to insure a better chance of someone buying one. The min bid is $30 on both of them, I had the choice of donating the whole item or could elect to receive 25% for myslef. I went for the 25% because I could use it. (bigtime) And there is the plus that if someone buys one, I will have art on someone’s wall and they can tell others where it came from! Yeah. One can dream…


Leave a Reply

