The Year of the Dragon


I have been a wayward blogger, it has been so long since I was here to grace the halls of bloggermainia.  I hang my head in un-bloggernal shame…..(that was an attempt to draw a parallel to un-professional shame).  I only have reason, no excuse…for I have sufficient time on my hands.  It is certain actually that I have little but time.  I have, however, been continuing my “etherial” education by reading, reading, reading, until my eyes have been bleary, my head dropping upon my keyboard, and stuffing my brain with ideas.  My next move is to produce a piece for the next Friday’s show at Alley Cat Artists which is having it’s grand reopening in its new place of residence, an old Chinese restaurant two blocks from its former location.  We will have much more space to show art in the new residence, YEA!  I am stoked, that means many more people will be able to show each month.  I have not seen the new place yet, other than outside in passing.  I won’t see it untill I deliver the new piece I am working on (that is if I get it done in time!)

I have chosen to do something that I have wanted to do for a while, but it is complicated and had not had the impetus to brave the idea.  the theme of the show this month is:  “The Year of the Dragon” in honor of the Chinese Lunar New Year.  Yes, you are so smart, you guessed it, I am doing a dragon!  She is red and black(very scorpionic as I am a scorpio, and a bit of a mix up in symbolisim, lol) and I named her Moonstormy over ten years ago.  She is my chosen dragon alter ego, and online game name for years.  I have not used her name online for a while, but she has remained in my heart!  When I got the call to artists for this show, saw the theme, the only natural thing for me to bring to live was my old friend Moonstormy.

What a hornet’s nest of complexity I called down on my head!  It has been a very difficult project, and I only have a few days to get her done!  Due to time constraints, and the intricacy of my stormy friend, I am only making the head, upper body and one wing against the backdrop of a full moon.  Also, I have to say that I am not entirely pleased with this first embodiment of Moonstormy.  I plan on further projects whereby I may refine my technique of the portrayal of a dragon entity.  It is a major challenge, one which I meet gladly, and bravely.  I must go now, I have many knots to tie before I sleep.  The moon is not much more than a pearl and growing slower than I would like!  Wish me luck, and flying fingers!

Note:  the dragon image I used is one that I used as a semi-model, along with several more to come up with Moonstormy.  This dragon image is by Bob Eggleton.

Explore posts in the same categories: fiber art, seasonal themed art, Wall Hangings

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “The Year of the Dragon”

  1. Nancy Barnes Says:

    Here’s wishing you luck and flying fingers! 😀

    • cilipower Says:

      Thank you Nancy, I unfortunately gave up on getting the dragon done for the show, though I will finish it, I must, it is my first dragon. I do have one other item to go in the show, and am working feverishly on another that was partially done. Both are floral pieces, one is pictured in my blog, the “Sunkissed Trio” and the one I am finishing is a flower I did a few months ago, with some sweet foliage that I am working onto a very interesting branch from our walnut tree. I have until 10am tomorrow to finish it, and will be working into the wee hours to get it done. Oh, yeah the fingers will fly!

  2. cilipower Says:

    Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that the floral themed art for the show is part of the overall symbolism associated with the Year of the Dragon, flowers are symbolic of renewal. I don’t remember half of what was mentioned in the Call for Art about the show. My brain fastened on dragons and flowers, lol. Two favorite subjects.


Leave a Reply

