Year of the Dragon Show update


The dragon Moonstormy was not completed in time, and I would probably not have entered her in the show after all, because I was not very pleased with the results.  She had more of a cat shaped head than dragon, and there were various other things I was not happy with.  I may add her into a more complete picture or not.  I may just take what I learned from my first dragon attempt and run with another more hansome version.  Being a dragon fan, I am rather partial to making something of which to be proud.  Moonstormy is a beauty to be portrayed in the light of her awesomeness and not as a cartoonish visage such as I made first time around.  I will try again.

The show was a rocking success, by the way!  We had a great crowd, awesome art by some amazing folk, a delectable spread provided by some of Alley Cat Artists faithful supporters, and a five man band called “Avolution”!  Four of them sang, three played guitar, one played the tambourine, and one the drums.  The style of music was late 70’s early 80’s fun popish music, chock full of meaning, melody, rhythm and fun.  I sat near the frontline watching kids dancing with ladies and dads, all in all it was just great.

I entered two pieces into the show that fit the suggested criteria that the work that celebrated our eccentricities or passions.  Well, in a nutshell, flowers are a passion with me, and an eccentricity in my work.  So I entered “Sunkissed Trio” shown above.  The second one is called “Solitude” and unfortunately I have no picture of it as yet.   As soon as I do, I will post it, as I am eager to share it because I am very happy with how it turned out.  When my Moonstormy piece was ditched, I dug out a flower I had done a few months ago that was waiting to be worked into something more.  I found among my collection of walnut branches a favorite piece I had been dying to do something on, and some leaves that would work well with the flower, also pre-made.  Well, long story short, I threw them together, my fingers flew feverishly for a couple of days to come up with a piece I can be proud to show.  The only thing I regret is not having a pic to show you folks.  One will follow, soon as….yes it will.

The “Sunkissed Trio” stands on a covered pedestal, nearly in the center of the room alongside another pedestal with resident prolific artist Scott Mayberry’s sculpture that is a colorful something that involves a large book.  Here is a link to see some of his work.   scottmaberryart.com    My other piece is on the wall to the right of the entrance alongside some other florals and abstracts.  There are at least three dragon paintings, two of which are quite large and imposing.  Also a serpent growing out the rear end of a rooster.  That is the genius of Justin Gibbens a very talented trans species artist.  His work has that Audubon quality to it, but no weekend birdwatcher ever caught one of his delights in their binoculars!  Oh, no indeed.  Try justingibbens.com and you will see the painting I just spoke of and much, much more!  Oh!  Yeah, I remember another name, (I was just sitting here wishing I remembered more names and his came to me, Kyle Wyatt.  He had two very interesting metal sculptures, one of which was a floor lamp.  I tried to find a link for him, but was not so lucky.  Just know I was very impressed by this young man, and he liked my work as well, (bonus).   Well, that is all I have for now, adios!

Explore posts in the same categories: art, fiber art, Fiber Sculpture, seasonal themed art, Wall Hangings

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Year of the Dragon Show update”

  1. Nancy Barnes Says:

    Oh what fun! I’m glad the opening was a success. Perhaps the flowers as your entries was meant to be? Sometimes it is hard to match in your hands what you see in your head, may take two or more attempts… don’t toss the “cartoonish” dragon as someday, it may be perfect placed in something for a child’s room. Thanks for the links, too. It is nice to see what others in your area are doing.

  2. cilipower Says:

    You know, you are right about the flowers being meant to be, I was sort of hung on the dragon thing at first until I went back and read what she said about other things we could focus on. When I read what she said about using something that celebrated our excentricities, and passions, well….flowers it was. I did finish the dragon as a bust sort of thing, in that I finished it off as a ‘head of a dragon’ rather than planned on using it in anything more complicated. It is kind of cute that way, I can take a pic of it with the web cam just for laughs. Will do….always fun sharing a laugh.


Leave a Reply

