Meet MoonStormy, Guardian of the Temple of the Moon (this better work!)


I am so upset, I had a wonderfully, delightfully amusing (she says) post written up, with three pics.  Proofread it, loved it, thought I sent it on its way to my loving fans, and now I find there is nothing there but tags, and a title!  Lol, weird, huh?  Well I will attempt to come up with a close approximation of the wonderous lost post for youse.  Here goes nuttin’ honey!  That is if I can remember half of it, hehe.

Fran, you said that everything was there but the picture, but when I went to the supposed post, all I got was the above mentioned.

Here is one of the many dragon images that I used in attempting to bring my mental image of MoonStormy into knotty being.  The dragon head in my first post about the show The Year of the Dragon by Bob Eggelton was another.  There are so many images of dragons and dragon heads to be viewed, I spent simply hours trying to find one that fit my mind picture of MoonStormy.  The story of how MoonStormy came to be was about my early exploation into the world of the internet.  I had looked up dragons, and found something called “Dragon Rings” and to be a part of the Ring one had to pick a Dragon Name to be their persona in the Ring.  I thought about it for a bit and came up with MoonStormy because I thought it suited my moon influenced rather stormy life, and it sounded Scorpionic.  Thus the choise of red and black for her colors, also.

Here she is, in all her toothy, bewhiskered glory!  Lol.  My intentions are to giver her another go with body and wings, sillouetted against the moon (a larger one than in the pic on the right) and of course seated upon a rocky crag, but I think I shall pass on all the clouds, hehe.  I have the moon started, and will use it most likely, unless I think of a better way to portray her loveliness.  I really do like my first attempt to bring her to life, but I want her to be a bit more refined and not so difficult to make out the details of the lines of her face.  I think this one had too much of the look of a cat to it.  All in all I am happy with my start on MoonStormy, Guardian of the Temple of the Moon.

I truly had fun making MoonStormy, and would so have loved making it with the piece I had in mind for the show.  But what is, is.  The pieces I have in the show are so indicitive of me, and what I am finding is my best love for a theme in my work.  Flowers.  Flowers have been my choice of prints to wear on me body, I gravitate towards other artists renditions of all things floral.  I just love flowers!!  (and Dragons!)  And Birds, and cats, and dogs, and, and, and, all God’s Critters Great and Miniscule!!!

Explore posts in the same categories: art, Fiber Sculpture, seasonal themed art, Wall Hangings

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Meet MoonStormy, Guardian of the Temple of the Moon (this better work!)”

  1. Fran Wilson Says:

    Everything is here, but the picture.

  2. Nancy Barnes Says:

    Oh good, glad to “meet” MoonStormy! I, too, had peeked and saw just the title and tags post… thought maybe the computer burped so try again another day. I’m glad you reposted!

  3. cilipower Says:

    Yeah, when my sis told me about it, I couldn’t just leave it lay! It was frustrating, and I don’t know how close the second version was to the first, lol. It is what it is. So, what did you think of MoonStormy? Lovely, is she not? Not. Lol, I think she looks like a cartoon. Not like a fierce Guardian of the Temple of the Moon. More to come…….

  4. Fran Wilson Says:

    Well, I thought it happened again, but I tried clicking on the underlined MeetMoonstormy…etc, and it took me here. So everything’s ok.


Leave a Reply

