CILIPOWER IS BACK


555_2575Yes, I am back, one, to humbly apologize for the long absence.  Two, to announce there will be a new look.  Three and most important to myself, I am going to change the name of my blog to:  CILIPOWERKNOTS, I Knot Therefore I Am.  This will coordinate with my new artist page I am presently creating on Facebook, and as  soon as I can make it happen, my website will also be CILIPOWERKNOTS, I Knot Therefore I  Am.  I already have the domain cilipowerknots.com, yea!  Just not the site.

Now that I have told you the news, I would like to show you something I was talking about working on.  Well, that is all I did, all I was able to, due to having no photography abilities or tools.  That has changed, I now have the tool, and am sincerely working on the abilities.  My new picturess are way better than the shots I was getting with my web cam, but still a long way from a professional art studio.  I will give you the best of the many, many experimental shots I have taken by way of learning.  Here goes:  Announcing at long last…”Fantastic Fingers”!

OMG!  This one took me forever to get it done!  And forever and a day to get a picture made of it, then again as long to get here to write about it!  It is here at last, I am so happy to finally present this piece that I have gone on about.  I knew it would be one that I would be proud of and that has played out as I suspected it would.  I am proud as a peacock!  If you could only see me when I stand and look at it, you would see my chest puff up, and on my face a proprietary grin!

Now I am going to tell you a little story about my showing this at the next to last First Friday Art Walk Show at Alley Cat Artists (they are now closed due to lack of funding).  Well, anyway, that is the way things go, unfortunately.  So, I had gone down to Alley Cat to take this piece and one other to drop it off for the next show.  The lady who was running Alley Cat was not there, and I gave it to one of her stand ins, who I showed the various little instructions I had for how it should be hung (some times things need to be bent, tugged, and or pushed to present as I wish).   I got a proper response from her so I figured all would be well.  When it came time to go to the show on Friday evening, I was under the weather so I did not go.  It was not till a few days later that I managed to get down to the gallery, and low, and behold it was hung upside down!  I have had similar problems before with items being hung backwards and told myself, “Self, you need to be there when it is hung if you want it hung properly!”  So, when I found it hung upside down all I could do was laugh!  What else could I do?  Sarah was so apologetic but I assured her I just thought it funny that my work was such that it still looked good backwards or forwards, upside down or upright!  Thus, I am going to add shots of “Fantastic Fingers” North, South, East and West views.  I do not have pictures of backwards, so don’t ask.  You already have the North View  Here goes the rest:

FANTASTIC FINGERS SOUTH

South View

131

East View

FANTASTIC FINGERS EAST

West View

And there you have it!  Yea! I did it, it only took me a couple of hours to get these three pictures just the way I wanted them, I won’t bore you with details, (giggle) I am just so happy I am able to pat myself on the back and say to my self:  “Self, it is done.”

I will not allow so much time between entries into blog-dom from now on in!  Even though I have not been producing a whole lot lately due to both research and practicing avoidance(otherwise known as procrastination).  At least I can say much of what I do to while my hours away in retirement has to do with forwarding my artistic endeavors to the point of being able to sell online.  I get closer all the time.  At least that is what I tell myself.  Enjoy my mini triumph of whipping this post into shape, and know that I will be back real soon!

Explore posts in the same categories: art, fiber art, Fiber Sculpture

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “CILIPOWER IS BACK”

  1. Nancy Barnes Says:

    Glad to see you posting again! That is funny that they hung it upside down, lol. Looks great from any angle! Hate to hear of the gallery closing as you have talked about that place before and it always sounded like a cool place to be.

  2. cilipower Says:

    Yes, it was a very nice place! They served a cross section of artists that don’t get much of a leg up otherwise, now they are gone. Many of us are sad, but lost funding was the culprit, so what do you do? Just have to figure out another way to gain exposure. If I could afford it, I would enter jurried show after show. Takes money to make money, as they say.
    It is good to be back writing here again.,.! I will make an effort to keep it up! Thank you for your nice comment!


Leave a Reply

